Categories
iPhone

iPhone Upgrade Program members in England will not be able to upgrade their iPhones until the Apple Stores reopen.

Apple has begun to send out emails to members of the iPhone Upgrade Program in England informing them that they will not be able to upgrade their iPhone models this year due to the closure of the Apple Stores in England.

At the moment, members of the iPhone Upgrade Program in the UK must go into an Apple Store to trade their old iPhone in for a new one. There is no online alternative. Apple Stores in England are closed today due to the UK Government’s latest restrictions to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

Advertisements

In the email sent to the members, Apple says that due to these new restrictions, they are “unable to invite [customers] to the store at this time to upgrade your iPhone.” Apple provide a phone number to call, but according to Paul Hudson, Apple only gave him three options on the phone:

  • Wait a month and upgrade the phone once the restrictions have been lifted in December
  • Exit the iPhone Upgrade Program and buy the iPhone from the Apple Online Store
  • Exit the Program and return the iPhone
Advertisements

In the email Apple sent, Apple offers members to wait a month until the restrictions have been lifted in the UK. Once the restrictions are lifted, members will then be able to upgrade their iPhone

Many of the Apple Stores in the UK are due to re-open soon with Click and Collect services. The new UK Government restrictions allow stores with Click and Collect services to remain open, hence why Apple is only offering a Click and Collect service as of Friday.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s