Categories
iPhone

Battery Life is the main reason the iPhone 12 Pro will not have a 120Hz display, says leaker

Jon Prosser (@jon_prosser) says that the main reason why Apple aren’t implementing a 120Hz display into the upcoming iPhone 12 Pro and iPhone 12 Pro Max is “100% about battery life”.

Prosser goes on to say that the iPhone 12 Pro’s hardware is “more than capable” for a 120Hz display, but in practice, the 120Hz display kills the battery quickly. The 5G components in the iPhone 12 kill the battery quickly too, so having a 120Hz display in addition to the already-intensive 5G components would drain the battery of the iPhone 12 Pro incredibly fast.

Advertisements

He goes says that Apple had a choice between implementing a 120Hz display or implementing 5G, and Apple went with the latter. Additionally, 5G can be marketed easily and looks good to all consumers, where as the average consumer wouldn’t care about a 120Hz display.

Advertisements

Even though only a few places across the world have 5G, Prosser reiterates that it’s much easier to market 5G to all consumers. Considering most people own their iPhones for two to three years, when 5G launches in their area, they’ll have an iPhone that supports it.

The Apple “Hi, Speed” event is tomorrow at 10:00 a.m. PDT, 1:00 p.m. EDT, and 6:00 p.m. BST. Apple is expected to announce the iPhone 12 mini, iPhone 12, iPhone 12 Pro, and iPhone 12 Pro Max. Alongside the new iPhones, Apple may announce two new wireless chargers named “MagSafe” and “MagSafe Duo” and AirPods Studio.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s